BPL 2019-2020

BPL 2019

BPL 2019-2020, Bangladesh Premier League, the top level professional Twenty20 cricket franchise league in Bangladesh. The competition was organized by the Bangladesh Cricket Board.

BPL 2019-2020
BPL 2019-2020

BPL 2019-2020 details

The 2019–20 BPL season, also known as BPL 7 or Bangabandhu BPL, is scheduled to be the seventh season of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), the top level professional Twenty20 cricket league in Bangladesh. The competition will be organised by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), and is scheduled to start on 5 December 2019.The season was originally scheduled to start from 6 December 2019 and end on 11 January 2020, with the opening ceremony to be held on 3 December 2019.Comilla Victorians are the defending champions.

Chittagong Vikings were announced as not taking part in this edition of the tournament after their ownership was sold,and will be replaced by two new teams.A total of 8 teams will participate in this edition of the tournament, with contracts of pre-signed cricketers being cancelled until the player’s draft.However the idea was cancelled, with the number of teams being reverted back to 7 and Chittagong Vikings being reinstated after the change of format by the Bangladesh Cricket Board.


BPL 2019-2020 Rules Modified

On 11 September 2019, BCB president, Nazmul Hasan Papon informed the media about certain changes in rules and regulations for the ongoing season during a press briefing that due to having some conflict of interests between BPL Governing Council and all other franchises, the BCB have decided to run this BPL themselves without taking any franchises. The Board want to mark the occasion of the 100th birth anniversary of Bangabandhu in 2020 and to pay homage to him, the tournament will be named Bangabandhu BPL after him. The teams names will be same as they were and only the responsibility to manage the team will be on the BCB. The players’ transportation and accommodation will be managed by the board.